Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Twitter best practices {Megaphone Society}

Continuing our Twitter series, today’s post comes from Kathy Lowry Logan, a prolific tweeter with a large following (follow her here). Kathy shares her Twitter techniques and a lot of great resources!


A year ago, I had a couple hundred followers and was scared to death to send out a tweet. Today, I have over 73,000 and send out at least 100 tweets a day. What happened?

In July, I joined a World Literary Café tweet team, and as they say, the rest is history. I met author Claude Bouchard @ceebee308 on a tweet team. Claude has over 359,000 followers. I asked him how he amassed such an impressive following and he directed me to a post he wrote on Live Write Thrive titled: Coming Clean about My Twitter Success. To understand this process, read his post. It’s excellent.

I follow Claude’s twitter plan faithfully, following and unfollowing accounts daily. Finding accounts to follow, though, is a challenge.

Recently, I listened to a Skype presentation by NYT bestselling author Ruth Cardello. She made this suggestion: If you are on any kind of Amazon list, study the authors ahead of you, search for them on Twitter, then follow their followers.

For the last eight months, I’ve been on the top 100 time travel romance list, currently number 33, but it changes daily. I checked the Twitter profiles of the authors ahead of me. Not all had Twitter accounts, but of the ones who did, I followed their followers.

Does it work? Does it sell books? Yes, it does.

I also joined the Author Social Media Support Group #ASMSG and the Independent Author Network #IAN1, and got listed on the AuthorsdB.

ASMSG and IAN have hundreds of members on Twitter. Authors support each other by tweeting and re-tweeting book and blog post links.  This not only increases my reach, but has introduced me to awesome people and great books.

I’ve had a blog for some time but was haphazard in writing posts. A few months ago, I started tweeting links to interesting writing and marketing blog posts. This evolved into a two-hour block in the morning and a two-hour block in the evening when I send out writing and marketing links. The next day, I post all the links from the previous day on my blog. This has increased traffic by upwards of 300%. Does this translate into book sales? I don’t think so, but it has helped establish my brand.

If you’re just starting out, I recommend not only Claude’s post mentioned above, but also a post written by Chris Robley on The BookBaby Blog titled: How authors can use Twitter to engage readers. There are other interesting twitter links on my blog. Just scroll through the list of links looking specifically for Twitter.  

What to do now:

  1. Read Claude’s post
  2. Look for authors who write the kinds of books you write
  3. Follow their followers
  4. Have conversations with people you meet
  5. Have fun

Happy writing and running,

Kathy

Are you a member of these networks?
How have they helped you?


Be part of the megaphone and spread the word!

